Unless you are going through a DUI checkpoint, officers must have a reason to pull you over and administer a field sobriety test. While most people may associate weaving or crossing over the lane lines as a sign of an impaired driver, there are also other behaviors police officers are looking for. Knowing what these signs are can help defendants better understand if the officer had enough evidence to warrant the traffic stop in the first place.
Drunk driving offenses are treated very seriously under Connecticut law. While an operating under the influence conviction can mean criminal penalties and the driver losing his or her driver's license, the actual arrest procedures can surprise many.
Connecticut DUI law is primarily predicated on two basic points of law, CGS §§ 14-227a and -227b. These statutes govern driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs and establish implied consent to drug and alcohol testing while driving on Connecticut roadways, respectively. These two laws make up the bulk of the state's right to charge people for DUI offenses and set forth administrative penalties for DUI accusations and convictions.
A Connecticut teacher faces DUI charges in an accident that occurred on Dec. 3, 2014. According to the school district in Columbia, she resigned from her teaching position 72 hours after the accident. In one announcement, the district is quoted as saying that the matter is now a legal issue.
A Dec. 25 car accident has resulted in two men facing DUI charges. The one-car wreck occurred at approximately 9:15 a.m. in Willimantic on Ash Street. As officials responded to the scene, they observed a 27-year-old man who was attempting to move the vehicle. They took the man into custody for operating a motor vehicle without a license and for drunk driving.
A DUI conviction in Connecticut will have an effect on the accused driver's ability to operate their vehicle. At a minimum, the Department of Motor Vehicles must suspend a person's driver's license for 45 days after they are convicted of DUI. In addition to a period of license suspension, drivers will also be required to use an ignition interlock in their vehicle for a certain period of time.
A Connecticut school teacher was recently charged with DUI and second-degree assault with a motor vehicle after she crashed into another car on Dec. 3. Two people were injured in the incident, including a pedestrian. The wreck occurred in the afternoon on Route 32 in Willimantic.
When a person is suspected of drunk driving in Connecticut, police officers will normally ask if they would be willing to perform roadside or field sobriety tests. While an officer may choose to administer a couple of additional tests, such as reciting the alphabet, counting or touching the tip of their finger to their nose, the three most reliable tests are ones that have been studied and standardized.
A 20-year-old woman has been taken into custody in East Hartford after her involvement in an alleged DUI accident. The incident occurred at on Oct. 19. Her vehicle was stopped after an officer reportedly observed the driver failing to maintain the correct lane.
A man was arrested for driving while intoxicated and crashing into a Church just before 7 p.m. on Nov. 1 in Glastonbury. The 38-year-old man was also charged with driving too fast for conditions and failure to drive right.