Connecticut DUI law is primarily predicated on two basic points of law, CGS §§ 14-227a and -227b. These statutes govern driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs and establish implied consent to drug and alcohol testing while driving on Connecticut roadways, respectively. These two laws make up the bulk of the state's right to charge people for DUI offenses and set forth administrative penalties for DUI accusations and convictions.
Under Connecticut law, drivers may be charged with DUI if they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol to such a degree that their ability to safely operate a vehicle is compromised. A blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent is the standard for adults over the age of 21, while commercial drivers are considered to be under the influence at .04 percent and anyone under the age of 21 at .02 percent.
The law states blood, breath or urine testing may be used to determine whether a person is intoxicated, but regulates how and when these tests must be performed. It also prescribes different protocols for obtaining samples for testing depending upon whether or not the driver was injured at the time the sample was procured. Drivers found to be intoxicated may be subject to imprisonment, fines and/or mandatory alcohol or drug treatment as well as license suspension.
In defending a person charged with drunk driving, an attorney may begin by examining the on-scene reports from police and medical first responders. The attorney might request verification that any testing was performed in accordance with state law. If appropriate, any license suspension may be contested pending the outcome of a trial or administrative hearing. Should the client plead not guilty, the attorney may proceed to defend the client during the ensuing trial.